Key Takeways
- Quote Range Explained — The gap between a $2,800 and $20,000 DFW panel replacement quote comes down to mandatory 2023 NEC code upgrades, permit fees, labor complexity, and existing infrastructure issues — not contractor markup.
- New Code = Higher Costs — Texas adopted the 2023 NEC in September 2023, making outdoor emergency disconnects ($1,000–$1,650), whole-home surge protection ($300–$900), and AFCI/GFCI breakers ($50–$90 each) mandatory on every panel job.
- Hazardous Panels Are Urgent — Federal Pacific, Zinsco, and Challenger panels have documented failure rates and are linked to thousands of house fires annually; most Texas insurers refuse coverage or require replacement within 30 days of discovery.
- Permits Protect You — Skipping a permit may lower an upfront quote but can result in city fines, denied insurance claims, and a stalled home sale — a permit is your legal protection, not an optional add-on.
- Trust Epic Electrical for transparent panel pricing, master electrician expertise, and full permit management across the DFW Metroplex — visit Epic Electrical to see the difference honest electrical work makes.
Why Do Electrical Panel Replacement Quotes in DFW Range from $2,800 to $20,000+?
The difference between a $2,800 quote and a $20,000+ quote for the same 200-amp panel upgrade often comes down to mandatory 2023 NEC code requirements, local permit fees, existing infrastructure issues, and labor complexity — not contractor greed. A basic compliant upgrade includes the new panel, meter base, outdoor emergency disconnect, whole-home surge protection, and permits. But older homes, service entrance relocations, AFCI/GFCI breaker upgrades, and aluminum wiring remediation can easily double the cost. Understanding these escalators helps you compare quotes fairly and avoid hidden surprises.
Let’s break down exactly what drives these price variations and what you should expect to pay in the DFW market.
Epic Electrical
Free Quote & Honest Diagnosis — No Upsells
Core Service Programs:
- Electrical Repairs, Wiring & Lighting for tripping breakers, faulty wiring, GFCI issues, and indoor/outdoor lighting
- EV Chargers, Generators & Panel Upgrades for Level 2 EV charging, whole-home generator installs, panel replacements, and surge protection
- Commercial, Warehouse & Industrial Electrical for restaurants, offices, industrial buildouts, LED retrofits, and dedicated circuits
Why Choose Epic Electrical:
- ✓ Trusted by customers with 140+ five-star Google reviews
- ✓ Father-and-son master electricians — a third-generation electrical family
- ✓ Serving North Richland Hills and the DFW Metroplex since 2009
- ✓ 50+ years of combined electrical experience on every job
- ✓ No upsells, no jargon, no pressure — we fix what’s actually broken
- ✓ Small repairs fixed same-visit; big jobs get a written quote with no hidden costs
- ✓ Texas-licensed electrical contractor (TECL #33192)
The 2023 NEC Code Changes That Increased Panel Replacement Costs
Texas adopted the 2023 National Electrical Code in September 2023, and it changed what “a panel replacement” actually means. Several upgrades that were once optional are now legally required on every job — and they add real dollars to every quote you receive.
The biggest new line item is the outdoor emergency disconnect, required under NEC 230.85. This is a shutoff switch installed outside your home so firefighters can cut power without entering a burning structure. It adds $1,000–$1,650 to every panel upgrade, no exceptions. Whole-home surge protection is also now mandatory at the service entrance, typically adding $300–$900. This protects your appliances and electronics from voltage spikes caused by lightning, utility switching, and large motor loads cycling on and off.
The cost that surprises most homeowners is AFCI and GFCI breakers. These “smart breakers” detect arc faults and ground faults before they start fires or cause electrocution. A standard breaker costs around $7. An AFCI/GFCI breaker runs $50–$90 each. If your panel has 30 circuits — which is common in a modern home — that’s $1,500–$2,700 in breaker costs alone, before a single hour of labor is counted.
These aren’t upsells. They’re not optional. Any quote that omits them is either non-compliant or planning to add them back in later as “surprises.” When you see a quote that includes all three, you’re looking at a legitimate, code-compliant job.
Sticker Shock Is Normal — Here’s Why
If your panel quote seems high, you’re not alone. The 2023 NEC code changes added mandatory safety upgrades — outdoor disconnect, surge protection, smart breakers — that didn’t exist five years ago. These aren’t optional upsells. They’re required by law and protect your home from electrical fires.
DFW Electrical Panel Replacement: Real Pricing Breakdown
Aggregator sites like HomeAdvisor and Angi publish national averages that often look dramatically lower than what DFW homeowners actually pay. That gap is real, and it has a straightforward explanation: national averages include simpler jobs in lower-cost markets, while DFW quotes reflect full code compliance, higher labor rates, and local permit fees.
DFW electricians typically charge $100–$200+ per hour, and a 200-amp panel swap takes 8–16 hours of labor. Add mandatory code upgrades and permit fees ranging from $100–$410 depending on your city, and the math gets to $2,800 quickly — even before any infrastructure complications.
| Source | Reported Range | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Epic Electrical (DFW) | $5,800–$7,500 | Standard 200-amp upgrade, fully code-compliant with permits |
| Epic Electrical — FPE Replacement (DFW) | $5,800–$7,500 | Federal Pacific panel replacement with full 2023 NEC compliance |
| Epic Electrical — SPAN Panel (DFW) | $6,500–$10,000+ | Smart panel upgrade; can exceed $10,000 with service entrance work |
| TLC Electrical (DFW) | Not Disclosed | Not Disclosed |
| Grizzly Electrical Solutions (DFW) | Not Disclosed | Not Disclosed |
| Milestone Electric | Not Disclosed | Not Disclosed |
| Berkey’s | Not Disclosed | Not Disclosed |
The honest takeaway: if a DFW quote comes in under $4,500 for a full 200-amp upgrade with permits, ask exactly which code requirements are included. Cheap quotes that omit the outdoor disconnect, surge protection, or AFCI breakers aren’t actually cheaper — they’re incomplete.
Seven Cost Escalators That Push Quotes Higher
Once you understand the 2023 NEC baseline, the next question is: what pushes a $3,000 job to $6,000 or beyond? These seven factors account for most of the variation you’ll see between quotes.
- Amperage upgrade (100A to 200A): Thicker wiring, a new meter base, and updated permits add $500–$1,000 to the base cost.
- Panel relocation: Moving the panel from an interior closet to an exterior wall requires significantly more labor and often drywall repair — a cost that varies widely by home layout.
- Service entrance and mast work: Underground service requires excavation; overhead mast repair or replacement adds additional materials and labor.
- Aluminum wiring: Homes built between 1965 and 1973 often have aluminum branch circuit wiring. Remediation runs $90–$110 per connection point and can add thousands to a job depending on how many circuits are affected. Our electrical wiring repair services cover this in full.
- Existing infrastructure issues: Undersized meter bases, damaged service conductors, or DFW’s notorious expansive clay soil affecting underground lines all require additional work before the panel can be upgraded safely.
- Permit and inspection fees: DFW cities charge $100–$410 for electrical permits. Some cities also trigger requirements for interconnected smoke detectors when interior finishes are disturbed during the job.
- Labor rates: DFW electricians charge $100–$200+ per hour, running 30–50% above the national average. A two-person crew typically costs $150–$225 per hour, and a full panel swap takes 8–16 hours.
Pro Tip: Load Calculation Saves Money
Before accepting a quote, ask the electrician if they performed a load calculation. This determines your actual electrical needs and can reveal whether you truly need a 200-amp upgrade or if a smaller service suffices — potentially saving thousands. Use our panel upgrade calculator to get a baseline estimate before your first call.
Federal Pacific, Zinsco & Challenger Panels: Why Replacement Is Non-Negotiable
If your home was built before 1990, there’s a meaningful chance it contains one of three panel brands that should be replaced regardless of whether anything has gone wrong yet: Federal Pacific Electric (FPE), Zinsco, or Challenger.
Federal Pacific’s Stab-Lok breakers have documented failure rates up to 60% in independent testing — meaning they may not trip during an overload, allowing wiring to overheat and ignite. These panels are linked to an estimated 2,800 house fires annually in the United States. Zinsco panels have aluminum bus bars that corrode over time, creating overheating conditions that aren’t visible from the outside. Both brands are flagged by most major Texas insurance carriers, which either refuse to write policies on homes with these panels or require replacement within 30 days of discovery.
In DFW, over 30% of homes built before 1990 contain one of these hazardous panels. That’s not a small number — it represents hundreds of thousands of homes across the Metroplex where the breaker protecting your wiring may not actually work when it needs to.
Beyond the fire risk, these panels create real financial problems. Buyers’ lenders — particularly FHA and VA loan programs — often won’t approve financing on homes with known hazardous panels. Home inspectors flag them on every report, and buyers routinely demand replacement or walk away entirely. Replacing an FPE or Zinsco panel isn’t just a safety decision; it’s often what makes a home insurable and sellable. Our panel replacement service covers full code-compliant upgrades for all hazardous panel brands.
How to Compare Electrical Panel Quotes Like a Pro
Getting multiple quotes is smart. But comparing them fairly requires knowing what should be in every quote and what’s a red flag when it’s missing.
Start by demanding a written, itemized estimate. It should list labor, materials, permits, and every mandatory code upgrade separately — outdoor disconnect, surge protection, and AFCI/GFCI breakers. If a quote is a single lump number with no breakdown, you have no way to know what’s included and what isn’t.
Next, verify the contractor’s Texas Electrical Contractor License (TECL) at tdlr.texas.gov. This takes two minutes and confirms the contractor is legally permitted to perform electrical work in Texas. Check for any disciplinary actions while you’re there. A clean license is a minimum requirement, not a differentiator.
Ask directly: “Will you pull the permit, and who manages the inspection?” A reputable electrician pulls permits and handles the inspection process as part of the job. If someone offers to skip the permit to save you money, that’s not a discount — it’s a liability transfer. For a deeper look at what to ask before hiring, our guide on how to hire an electrician walks through the full checklist.
Finally, ask which 2023 NEC requirements are explicitly included in the quote. Outdoor disconnect, whole-home surge protection, and AFCI/GFCI breakers should all be named. If a contractor says “we’ll handle code compliance,” ask them to put the specifics in writing. Vague language is where hidden costs live.
The Hidden Cost of Skipping Permits
Unpermitted electrical work may save money upfront but can cost thousands later — fines, forced remediation, denied insurance claims, and stalled home sales. A permit is your protection, not your enemy. Any contractor who suggests skipping one is putting their convenience ahead of your legal and financial safety.
Why Choose Epic Electrical for Your DFW Panel Upgrade
We’re a father-and-son team operating out of North Richland Hills, and we’ve been doing this work across the DFW Metroplex since 2009. Between us, we bring over 50 years of combined electrical experience — enough to have seen every variation of aging infrastructure, hazardous panel brand, and code change that DFW homes throw at us.
Our 140+ five-star Google reviews reflect one consistent theme: homeowners appreciate knowing exactly what they’re paying for and why. We publish our base prices — $2,800–$4,500 for a standard 200-amp upgrade — and we explain every escalator upfront. If your job requires panel relocation, aluminum wiring remediation, or service entrance work, you’ll know that before we start, not after. No hidden fees, no code upgrades that appear as surprises on the final invoice.
We pull and manage all electrical permits for our scope of work. That means your job passes inspection, your insurance stays valid, and if you ever sell the home, the work is documented and clean. We’re fully licensed (TECL #33192) and insured, and we coordinate directly with local utilities — Oncor, GP&L — so the utility side of your upgrade doesn’t become your problem to manage.
If there’s a cheaper fix for your situation, we’ll tell you. That’s not a marketing line — it’s how we’ve built a reputation worth having in a market full of contractors. We serve homeowners across Fort Worth, Arlington, Colleyville, Keller, Southlake, and the broader DFW area. Our full service area covers the Metroplex from North Richland Hills outward.
Get a free estimate from Epic Electrical and see exactly what your panel upgrade will cost — no sticker shock, no pressure, no surprises.
Frequently Asked Questions: DFW Electrical Panel Replacement
How do I know if my electrical panel actually needs to be replaced, or can it be repaired?
If you have a Federal Pacific, Zinsco, or Challenger panel, replacement is necessary — these brands have inherent design flaws that cannot be safely repaired. For other panels, signs that point toward replacement include frequent breaker trips, flickering lights, burning smells near the panel, or visible corrosion and damage. A single faulty breaker, on the other hand, may only require a circuit breaker repair rather than a full panel swap. A licensed electrician can perform a diagnostic to determine the safest and most cost-effective path forward.
What happens if I skip getting a permit for electrical work in my DFW home?
Skipping a permit is illegal and creates serious downstream problems. Cities can issue fines and require you to hire a licensed electrician to redo the work at your expense. If an electrical fire occurs and the work was unpermitted, your homeowner’s insurance company has grounds to deny the claim entirely. When you sell the home, unpermitted work gets flagged during inspection, which can delay closing by weeks or kill the deal outright — forcing costly last-minute repairs under pressure.
Will installing a Level 2 EV charger require an electrical panel upgrade?
It depends on your panel’s current capacity. Level 2 EV chargers draw 30–50 amps, which many older 100-amp panels cannot safely accommodate alongside existing household loads. A licensed electrician will perform a load calculation to assess available capacity before recommending a path forward. If your panel doesn’t have enough headroom, upgrading to 200-amp service is often the right move — and it future-proofs your home for additional high-demand appliances. Our EV charger installation service includes that load assessment as part of the process.
What does aluminum wiring remediation involve, and why is it necessary?
Aluminum branch circuit wiring — common in homes built between 1965 and 1973 — oxidizes over time and expands and contracts more than copper, creating loose connections at outlets, switches, and fixtures. Those loose connections generate heat, and that heat is a fire hazard. Remediation involves permanently attaching copper “pigtail” wires to the existing aluminum using specialized connectors rated for aluminum-to-copper connections. This process costs $90–$110 per connection point and is often flagged as a mandatory repair during home inspections, particularly when buyers are using FHA or VA financing.
What makes Epic Electrical different from other DFW electrical contractors?
Epic Electrical publishes actual price ranges — $5,800–$7,500 for a standard 200-amp upgrade — and explains every cost escalator before work begins. Our father-and-son master electricians bring 50+ years of combined experience and deep familiarity with DFW municipal codes, permit processes, and utility coordination with Oncor and GP&L. We pull and manage all permits, carry 140+ five-star Google reviews, and follow one simple rule: if there’s a cheaper fix, we’ll tell you. No upsells, no pressure, no surprises on the final invoice. Request a free estimate and see what transparent electrical work looks like.
Ready to Understand Your Panel Replacement Cost in DFW?
Sticker shock is real, but it doesn’t have to be a mystery. Whether you’re dealing with a Federal Pacific panel, planning a 200-amp upgrade, or trying to make sense of competing quotes, we’ll walk you through exactly what your job requires and what it will cost — before any work begins.
No hidden fees. No pressure. Just honest answers from a family that’s been doing this work in DFW since 2009.
Serving Fort Worth, Arlington, Keller, Southlake, Colleyville, Grapevine, North Richland Hills, and the greater DFW Metroplex.
Pricing, equipment specifications, and project scope mentioned in this article are accurate as of the date of publication and are subject to change. Code requirements and permit needs vary by municipality and property. Please contact us directly for a current quote on your specific home or business.



